New writing contest: Sassafras Award for Excellence in Environmental Writing

Always exciting to see a new award established for environmental writing. This one is for regionally focused writing in the states of Missouri, Arkansas or Louisiana.

The Sassafras Award for Excellence in Environmental Writing is a newly-established award of $3,000 that extends the Ozark Society Foundation’s history of publishing books that educate the public on conservation issues. Goals of the competition include:

The competition is open to literary work whose regional focus relates to areas in Arkansas, Missouri, and Louisiana where the Ozark Society operates. Submissions are encouraged from any author in any location whose writing reflects this regional link. Eligible genres for consideration include fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, dramatic writing, graphic novels, illustrated books, children’s books, young adult fiction, edited compilations, published columns, or blogs. Scientific writing is not eligible for consideration.

Prize: $3,000
Fee: $25
Deadline: July 31, 2021

Learn more here.

John Yunker
Author of the novels The Tourist Trail and Where Oceans Hide Their Dead. Co-founder of Ashland Creek Press and editor of Writing for Animals (also now a writing program).
John Yunker


Author of books, plays and short stories. Publisher at Ashland Creek Press. Web globalization geek at Byte Level Research. And vegan.
RT @DHallerman: Whenever people say “we mustn’t be sentimental,” you can take it they are about to do something cruel. And if they add, “we… - 3 days ago
John Yunker
Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00