Literary Outlets for Environmental Writing

We’ve compiled a list of publications devoted in large part to eco-literature — essays, articles, short stories, poetry. To be notified when new publications are added to the list, subscribe to our monthly newsletter:

  1. African Conservation Telegraph (https://conbio.org/groups/sections/africa/act)
  2. Alluvian (www.alluvian.space)
  3. Alterity (www.alteritystudies.org/alterity-journal)
  4. Among Animals (An anthology series from Ashland Creek Press)
  5. Anabiosis Press (www.anabiosispress.org)
  6. Animal: A Beast of a Literary Magazine (www.animalliterarymagazine.com)
  7. Antennae (www.antennae.org.uk)
  8. Art after Nature (a forthcoming book series)
  9. Artis Natura (www.artisnatura.com)
  10. Ashland Creek Press (www.ashlandcreekpress.com)
  11. Camas (www.umt.edu/camas)
  12. Canary (www.hippocketpress.com/canary)
  13. City Creatures Blog (Center for Humans and Nature: www.humansandnature.org/blog)
  14. Cold Mountain Review (www.coldmountainreview.org)
  15. Deep Wild Journal (www.deepwildjournal.com)
  16. Dragonfly.eco (www.dragonfly.eco)
  17. EcoHustler (www.ecohustler.co.uk)
  18. [email protected]: European Journal of Literature, Culture and Environment (www.ecozona.eu)
  19. Ecotone (www.ecotonemagazine.org)
  20. Elementum (www.elementumjournal.com)
  21. Emergence Magazine (www.emergencemagazine.org)
  22. Newly Added: Environmental Humanities (https://read.dukeupress.edu/environmental-humanities)
  23. Epizootics (www.epizooticszine.wordpress.com)
  24. Flycatcher (www.flycatcherjournal.org)
  25. Flyway (www.flywayjournal.org)
  26. Green Letters: Studies in Ecocriticism (www.tandfonline.com/loi/rgrl20)
  27. Gull (www.gullzine.com)
  28. ISLE: Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment (www.asle.org/research-write/isle-journal)
  29. Newly Added: Journal of Critical Animal Studies (http://journalforcriticalanimalstudies.org)
  30. Journal of Sustainability Education (www.journalofsustainabilityeducation.com)
  31. High Country News (www.hcn.org)
  32. Humanamalia (www.depauw.edu/site/humanimalia)
  33. Kudzu House Quarterly (www.kudzuhouse.org)
  34. Matador Review (www.matadorreview.com)
  35. Newly Added: Mānoa: A Pacific Journal of International Writing (https://manoa.hawaii.edu/manoajournal)
  36. Newly Added: Media + Environment (https://mediaenviron.org)
  37. Newfound (www.newfoundjournal.org)
  38. Northern Woodlands Magazine (www.northernwoodlands.org)
  39. Orion Magazine (www.orionmagazine.org)
  40. Otherness: Essays and Stories (www.otherness.dk/journal)
  41. Poecology (www.poecology.org)
  42. Reckoning (www.reckoning.press)
  43. Saltfront: Studies in Human Habit(at) (www.saltfront.org)
  44. Sinking City (www.sinkingcitylitmag.com)
  45. Sloth: A Journal of Emerging Voices in Human-Animal Studies (For undergraduate students: www.animalsandsociety.org/pages/sloth)
  46. Snowy Egret (www.snowyegret.net)
  47. Stonecoast Review (www.stonecoastreview.org)
  48. Terrain (www.terrain.org)
  49. The Bear Deluxe (www.orlo.org)
  50. The Clearing (www.littletoller.co.uk/the-clearing)
  51. The Common (www.thecommononline.org)
  52. The Curlew (www.the-curlew.com)
  53. The Fourth River (fourthriver.chatham.edu)
  54. The Goose (http://scholars.wlu.ca/thegoose)
  55. The Hopper (www.hoppermag.org)
  56. The Siskiyou Prize for New Environmental Literature (www.siskiyouprize.com)
  57. Whole Terrain (www.wholeterrain.com)
  58. Wild Hope Magazine (www.wildhope.org)
  59. Zoomorphic (www.zoomorphic.net)

If we’ve missed something, please let us know.