Literary Outlets for Environmental Writing

We’ve compiled a list of publications devoted in large part to eco-literature — essays, articles, short stories, poetry. To be notified when new publications are added to the list, subscribe to our monthly newsletter:

  1. African Conservation Telegraph (https://conbio.org/groups/sections/africa/act)
  2. Alluvian (www.alluvian.space)
  3. Alterity (www.alteritystudies.org/alterity-journal)
  4. Among Animals (An anthology series from Ashland Creek Press)
  5. Anabiosis Press (www.anabiosispress.org)
  6. Animal: A Beast of a Literary Magazine (www.animalliterarymagazine.com)
  7. Antennae (www.antennae.org.uk)
  8. Art after Nature (a forthcoming book series)
  9. Artis Natura (www.artisnatura.com)
  10. Ashland Creek Press (www.ashlandcreekpress.com)
  11. Camas (www.umt.edu/camas)
  12. Canary (www.hippocketpress.com/canary)
  13. City Creatures Blog (Center for Humans and Nature: www.humansandnature.org/blog)
  14. Cold Mountain Review (www.coldmountainreview.org)
  15. Newly Added: Dark Mountain (https://dark-mountain.net)
  16. Deep Wild Journal (www.deepwildjournal.com)
  17. Dragonfly.eco (www.dragonfly.eco)
  18. EcoHustler (www.ecohustler.co.uk)
  19. [email protected]: European Journal of Literature, Culture and Environment (www.ecozona.eu)
  20. Ecotone (www.ecotonemagazine.org)
  21. Edge Effects (https://edgeeffects.net)
  22. Elementum (www.elementumjournal.com)
  23. Emergence Magazine (www.emergencemagazine.org)
  24. Newly Added: Environmental Humanities (https://read.dukeupress.edu/environmental-humanities)
  25. Epizootics (www.epizooticszine.wordpress.com)
  26. Newly Added: Ferns: The Graduate Journal on Environmental Stewardship (www.fernsjournal.com)
  27. Flycatcher (www.flycatcherjournal.org)
  28. Flyway (www.flywayjournal.org)
  29. Green Letters: Studies in Ecocriticism (www.tandfonline.com/loi/rgrl20)
  30. Gull (www.gullzine.com)
  31. ISLE: Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment (www.asle.org/research-write/isle-journal)
  32. Journal of Critical Animal Studies (http://journalforcriticalanimalstudies.org)
  33. Journal of Sustainability Education (www.journalofsustainabilityeducation.com)
  34. High Country News (www.hcn.org)
  35. Humanamalia (www.depauw.edu/site/humanimalia)
  36. Kudzu House Quarterly (www.kudzuhouse.org)
  37. Newly Added: Literary Veganism: An Online Journal (www.litvegan.net)
  38. Matador Review (www.matadorreview.com)
  39. Mānoa: A Pacific Journal of International Writing (https://manoa.hawaii.edu/manoajournal)
  40. Media + Environment (https://mediaenviron.org)
  41. Newfound (www.newfoundjournal.org)
  42. Northern Woodlands Magazine (www.northernwoodlands.org)
  43. Orion Magazine (www.orionmagazine.org)
  44. Otherness: Essays and Stories (www.otherness.dk/journal)
  45. Poecology (www.poecology.org)
  46. Newly Added: Places Journal (www.placesjournal.org)
  47. Newly Added: Plumwood Mountain: An Australian Journal of Ecopoetry and Ecopoetics (www.plumwoodmountain.com)
  48. Newly Added: Resilience: A Journal of the Environmental Humanities (www.resiliencejournal.org)
  49. Reckoning (www.reckoning.press)
  50. Newly Added: Resurgence (www.resurgence.org)
  51. Saltfront: Studies in Human Habit(at) (www.saltfront.org)
  52. Sinking City (www.sinkingcitylitmag.com)
  53. Sloth: A Journal of Emerging Voices in Human-Animal Studies (For undergraduate students: www.animalsandsociety.org/pages/sloth)
  54. Snowy Egret (www.snowyegret.net)
  55. Stonecoast Review (www.stonecoastreview.org)
  56. Terrain (www.terrain.org)
  57. The Bear Deluxe (www.orlo.org)
  58. The Clearing (www.littletoller.co.uk/the-clearing)
  59. The Common (www.thecommononline.org)
  60. The Curlew (www.the-curlew.com)
  61. The Fourth River (fourthriver.chatham.edu)
  62. The Goose (http://scholars.wlu.ca/thegoose)
  63. The Hopper (www.hoppermag.org)
  64. The Siskiyou Prize for New Environmental Literature (www.siskiyouprize.com)
  65. The Tiger Moth Review (www.thetigermothreview.com)
  66. The Trumpeter: (http://trumpeter.athabascau.ca/index.php/trumpet)
  67. Whole Terrain (www.wholeterrain.com)
  68. Wild Hope Magazine (www.wildhope.org)
  69. Newly Added: Windfall: A Journal of Poetry and Place (www.windfalljournal.com)
  70. Zoomorphic (www.zoomorphic.net)

If we’ve missed something, please let us know.