Literary Outlets for Environmental Writing

We’ve compiled a list of publications devoted in large part to eco-literature — essays, articles, short stories, poetry. To be notified when new publications are added to the list, subscribe to our monthly newsletter:

  1. African Conservation Telegraph (https://conbio.org/groups/sections/africa/act)
  2. Alluvian (www.alluvian.space)
  3. Alterity (www.alteritystudies.org/alterity-journal)
  4. Among Animals (An anthology series from Ashland Creek Press)
  5. Anabiosis Press (www.anabiosispress.org)
  6. Antennae (www.antennae.org.uk)
  7. Art after Nature (a forthcoming book series)
  8. Artis Natura (www.artisnatura.com)
  9. Ashland Creek Press (www.ashlandcreekpress.com)
  10. Camas (www.umt.edu/camas)
  11. Canary (www.hippocketpress.com/canary)
  12. Caught by the River (www.caughtbytheriver.net)
  13. City Creatures Blog (Center for Humans and Nature: www.humansandnature.org/blog)
  14. Cold Mountain Review (www.coldmountainreview.org)
  15. Dark Mountain (https://dark-mountain.net)
  16. Deep Wild Journal (www.deepwildjournal.com)
  17. Dragonfly.eco (www.dragonfly.eco)
  18. EcoHustler (www.ecohustler.co.uk)
  19. [email protected]: European Journal of Literature, Culture and Environment (www.ecozona.eu)
  20. Ecotone (www.ecotonemagazine.org)
  21. Edge Effects (https://edgeeffects.net)
  22. Newly Added: Elsewhere (www.elsewhere-journal.com)
  23. Elementum (www.elementumjournal.com)
  24. Emergence Magazine (www.emergencemagazine.org)
  25. Environmental Humanities (https://read.dukeupress.edu/environmental-humanities)
  26. Epizootics (www.epizooticszine.wordpress.com)
  27. Ferns: The Graduate Journal on Environmental Stewardship (www.fernsjournal.com)
  28. Flycatcher (www.flycatcherjournal.org)
  29. Flyway (www.flywayjournal.org)
  30. Green Letters: Studies in Ecocriticism (www.tandfonline.com/loi/rgrl20)
  31. Gull (www.gullzine.com)
  32. ISLE: Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment (www.asle.org/research-write/isle-journal)
  33. Journal of Critical Animal Studies (http://journalforcriticalanimalstudies.org)
  34. Journal of Sustainability Education (www.journalofsustainabilityeducation.com)
  35. High Country News (www.hcn.org)
  36. Kosmos Journal (www.kosmosjournal.org)
  37. Literary Veganism: An Online Journal (www.litvegan.net)
  38. Matador Review (www.matadorreview.com)
  39. Mānoa: A Pacific Journal of International Writing (https://manoa.hawaii.edu/manoajournal)
  40. Media + Environment (https://mediaenviron.org)
  41. Newfound (www.newfoundjournal.org)
  42. Northern Woodlands Magazine (www.northernwoodlands.org)
  43. Newly Added: ON Nature (www.onnaturemagazine.com)
  44. Orion Magazine (www.orionmagazine.org)
  45. Otherness: Essays and Stories (www.otherness.dk/journal)
  46. Poecology (www.poecology.org)
  47. Punt Volat (www.puntvolatlit.com)
  48. Places Journal (www.placesjournal.org)
  49. Plumwood Mountain: An Australian Journal of Ecopoetry and Ecopoetics (www.plumwoodmountain.com)
  50. Resilience: A Journal of the Environmental Humanities (www.resiliencejournal.org)
  51. Reckoning (www.reckoning.press)
  52. Resurgence (www.resurgence.org)
  53. Saltfront: Studies in Human Habit(at) (www.saltfront.org)
  54. Sinking City (www.sinkingcitylitmag.com)
  55. Sloth: A Journal of Emerging Voices in Human-Animal Studies (For undergraduate students: www.animalsandsociety.org/pages/sloth)
  56. Snowy Egret (www.snowyegret.net)
  57. Stonecoast Review (www.stonecoastreview.org)
  58. Terrain (www.terrain.org)
  59. The Bear Deluxe (www.orlo.org)
  60. The Clearing (www.littletoller.co.uk/the-clearing)
  61. The Common (www.thecommononline.org)
  62. The Curlew (www.the-curlew.com)
  63. The Fourth River (fourthriver.chatham.edu)
  64. The Goose (http://scholars.wlu.ca/thegoose)
  65. The Hopper (www.hoppermag.org)
  66. The Siskiyou Prize for New Environmental Literature (www.siskiyouprize.com)
  67. The Tiger Moth Review (www.thetigermothreview.com)
  68. The Trumpeter: (http://trumpeter.athabascau.ca/index.php/trumpet)
  69. The Willowherb Review (www.willowherbreview.com)
  70. Newly Added: Tiny Seed Literary Journal (www.tinyseedjournal.com)
  71. Whole Terrain (www.wholeterrain.com)
  72. Wild Hope Magazine (www.wildhope.org)
  73. Windfall: A Journal of Poetry and Place (www.windfalljournal.com)
  74. ZEST Letteratura sostenibile (in Italian) (www.zestletteraturasostenibile.com)
  75. Zoomorphic (www.zoomorphic.net)

If we’ve missed something, please let us know.

PS: These journals have ceased publication but are still online:

  1. Animal: A Beast of a Literary Magazine (www.animalliterarymagazine.com)
  2. Humanamalia (www.depauw.edu/site/humanimalia)
  3. Kudzu House Quarterly (www.kudzuhouse.org)