Literary Outlets for Environmental Writing

We’ve compiled a list of publications devoted in large part to eco-literature — essays, articles, short stories, poetry. To be notified when new publications are added to the list, subscribe to our monthly newsletter:

  1. African Conservation Telegraph (https://conbio.org/groups/sections/africa/act)
  2. Alluvian (www.alluvian.space)
  3. Alterity (www.alteritystudies.org/alterity-journal)
  4. Among Animals (An anthology series from Ashland Creek Press)
  5. Anabiosis Press (www.anabiosispress.org)
  6. Antennae (www.antennae.org.uk)
  7. Newly Added: Anthropocene Magazine (www.anthropocenemagazine.org)
  8. Art after Nature (a forthcoming book series)
  9. Artis Natura (www.artisnatura.com)
  10. Ashland Creek Press (www.ashlandcreekpress.com)
  11. Camas (www.umt.edu/camas)
  12. Canary (www.hippocketpress.com/canary)
  13. Caught by the River (www.caughtbytheriver.net)
  14. City Creatures Blog (Center for Humans and Nature: www.humansandnature.org/blog)
  15. Cold Mountain Review (www.coldmountainreview.org)
  16. Dark Mountain (https://dark-mountain.net)
  17. Deep Wild Journal (www.deepwildjournal.com)
  18. Dragonfly.eco (www.dragonfly.eco)
  19. Newly Added: Ecocene: Cappadocia Journal of Environmental Humanities  (www.ecocene.kapadokya.edu.tr)
  20. EcoHustler (www.ecohustler.co.uk)
  21. [email protected]: European Journal of Literature, Culture and Environment (www.ecozona.eu)
  22. Ecotone (www.ecotonemagazine.org)
  23. Edge Effects (https://edgeeffects.net)
  24. Elsewhere (www.elsewhere-journal.com)
  25. Elementum (www.elementumjournal.com)
  26. Emergence Magazine (www.emergencemagazine.org)
  27. Environmental Humanities (https://read.dukeupress.edu/environmental-humanities)
  28. Epizootics (www.epizooticszine.wordpress.com)
  29. Ferns: The Graduate Journal on Environmental Stewardship (www.fernsjournal.com)
  30. Flycatcher (www.flycatcherjournal.org)
  31. Flyway (www.flywayjournal.org)
  32. Green Letters: Studies in Ecocriticism (www.tandfonline.com/loi/rgrl20)
  33. Gull (www.gullzine.com)
  34. ISLE: Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment (www.asle.org/research-write/isle-journal)
  35. Journal of Critical Animal Studies (http://journalforcriticalanimalstudies.org)
  36. Journal of Sustainability Education (www.journalofsustainabilityeducation.com)
  37. High Country News (www.hcn.org)
  38. Kosmos Journal (www.kosmosjournal.org)
  39. Literary Veganism: An Online Journal (www.litvegan.net)
  40. Matador Review (www.matadorreview.com)
  41. Mānoa: A Pacific Journal of International Writing (https://manoa.hawaii.edu/manoajournal)
  42. Media + Environment (https://mediaenviron.org)
  43. Newfound (www.newfoundjournal.org)
  44. Northern Woodlands Magazine (www.northernwoodlands.org)
  45. Newly Added: ON Nature (www.onnaturemagazine.com)
  46. Orion Magazine (www.orionmagazine.org)
  47. Otherness: Essays and Stories (www.otherness.dk/journal)
  48. Poecology (www.poecology.org)
  49. Punt Volat (www.puntvolatlit.com)
  50. Places Journal (www.placesjournal.org)
  51. Plumwood Mountain: An Australian Journal of Ecopoetry and Ecopoetics (www.plumwoodmountain.com)
  52. Resilience: A Journal of the Environmental Humanities (www.resiliencejournal.org)
  53. Reckoning (www.reckoning.press)
  54. Resurgence (www.resurgence.org)
  55. Saltfront: Studies in Human Habit(at) (www.saltfront.org)
  56. Sinking City (www.sinkingcitylitmag.com)
  57. Sloth: A Journal of Emerging Voices in Human-Animal Studies (For undergraduate students: www.animalsandsociety.org/pages/sloth)
  58. Snowy Egret (www.snowyegret.net)
  59. Stonecoast Review (www.stonecoastreview.org)
  60. Terrain (www.terrain.org)
  61. The Bear Deluxe (www.orlo.org)
  62. The Clearing (www.littletoller.co.uk/the-clearing)
  63. The Common (www.thecommononline.org)
  64. The Curlew (www.the-curlew.com)
  65. The Fourth River (fourthriver.chatham.edu)
  66. The Goose (http://scholars.wlu.ca/thegoose)
  67. The Hopper (www.hoppermag.org)
  68. Newly Added: The Island Review (www.theislandreview.com)
  69. The Siskiyou Prize for New Environmental Literature (www.siskiyouprize.com)
  70. The Tiger Moth Review (www.thetigermothreview.com)
  71. The Trumpeter: (http://trumpeter.athabascau.ca/index.php/trumpet)
  72. The Willowherb Review (www.willowherbreview.com)
  73. Tiny Seed Literary Journal (www.tinyseedjournal.com)
  74. Whole Terrain (www.wholeterrain.com)
  75. Wild Hope Magazine (www.wildhope.org)
  76. Windfall: A Journal of Poetry and Place (www.windfalljournal.com)
  77. Newly Added: Words for the Wild (www.wordsforthewild.co.uk)
  78. ZEST Letteratura sostenibile (in Italian) (www.zestletteraturasostenibile.com)
  79. Zoomorphic (www.zoomorphic.net)

If we’ve missed something, please let us know.

PS: These journals have ceased publication (to the best of our knowledge) but are still online:

  1. Animal: A Beast of a Literary Magazine (www.animalliterarymagazine.com)
  2. Humanamalia (www.depauw.edu/site/humanimalia)
  3. Kudzu House Quarterly (www.kudzuhouse.org)